25.4 C
New York
Thursday, June 13, 2024

The Furnishings Makers’ Firm pronounces Design Guild Mark 2024 holders

Innovation of supplies, creativity and sustainability are on the forefront of British design as 16 excellent submissions, from three classes, are awarded the coveted Design Guild Mark in 2024, with three receiving the extra accolade the Jonathan Hindle Prize. The Design Guild Mark is a non-profit award programme that was established in 2008 by The Furnishings Makers’ Firm to lift the profile of British industrial design and to recognise excellence on this self-discipline. Over time the Mark has grown from simply Furnishings to incorporate classes for Inside Design Parts, and Lighting.

The presentation happened at Humanscale throughout Clerkenwell Design Week on 21 Might at 11am, with displays by Deyan Sudjic OBE, a British author and broadcaster and former director of the Design Museum, London. The awards are sponsored by Agau and Concepts.

The Design Guild Mark is exclusive and candidates are required to current their precise piece in particular person to the esteemed judging panel, to permit for a dialogue and any inquiries to happen. The panel of impartial judges are world leaders of their subject and produce a wealth of data and expertise to the analysis course of.

The 2024 product choice is as follows:

Furnishings: Designer Producer
OE1 Sit-Stand Desk Industrial Facility Herman Miller
Aran Morgan Studio Morgan
Kitt Mark Gabbertas Gabbertas Studio
Maluma Claesson Koivisto Rune  

Modus Furnishings

Component couch system Philippe Malouin SCP
Laines Craig Jones Jones & Companions
Woodland Seat Gaze Burvill Crew Gaze Burvill
Pirouette Coat Stand Huw Evans and Campbell Thompson The Conran Store
Bellingdon Desk and Bellingdon sideboard Lisa Gould Sandall ercol

Inside Parts:

MODERN FLOCK wallpaper assortment Erica Wakerly Trendy Floor Ltd
Revolution (beneath) Jodie Padgett Camira


Bronte British Lambswool Assortment Judith Coates BRONTE BY MOON
Re.Wrap (major picture) Ric Frampton and Sophie Cappe The Collective


Tekiò Anthony Dickens Santa and Cole
Apex John Tree HAY
Hotaru Mini Edward Barber and Jay Osgerby Ozeki & Co


As well as, three of the awarded winners have obtained the Jonathan Hindle Prize for excellent design, every obtain a trophy made out of stable floor Corian, and a £1,000 money prize, the winners are:


Aran Morgan Studio Morgan
Re.Wrap Ric Frampton and Sophie Cappe  

The Collective

Apex John Tree HAY


Jonathan Hindle, Founding father of DGM and President of KI, EMEA mentioned: “Because the Founding father of Design Guild Mark, it has been a pleasure to look at it develop and progress now being extensively recognised as a stamp of design excellence within the sector. Sustainability has all the time been an essential issue for the awards however I’m glad to see now that’s the precedence, and evident within the judges choice.”

Rodney McMahon, chairman of the Design Guild Mark, commented: “Assembly the candidates, listening to their design journey, and witnessing the pleasant however insightful and probing questions of the judges is an gratifying design grasp class. Designers ought to apply for the Design Guild Mark only for the expertise of assembly the judges.”

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles